April 16, 2010

Crazy Love

Posted in Spiritual Life tagged at 1:23 am by Mo Dardinger

Yesterday was rough, most all day. This morning was rough, too, initially. I couldn’t get back to sleep, so got up to read or pray or just go on crying.

When a friend’s birthday rolled around last month, I had hunted all over Amazon for the right gift. Nothing seemed to click. So, as the time was getting short, I visited a brick-and-mortar bookstore. Nothing immediately struck me as a good gift there, either. So I found a clerk. I described my friend as a solid believer, mentioned a book he liked, and asked for help. The clerk suggested one of their best sellers, a red paperback called “Crazy Love: Overwhelmed by a Relentless God.”

My friend hasn’t said whether he likes it or not. But I picked up a copy for myself, too, and this morning I dipped into it. It’s going to be my favorite book for a long while, I think. It’s deep. It’s special. It’s calling me to step out of the boat and walk on the water. I want to. I really, really want to. If I can just stop being self-centered long enough, I will. Dry eyes and wet feet. And plenty of faith and generosity. That’s the new Mo.

Leave a Reply

